Welcome to Petascale Programming Environment and Tools Summer School 2010!

This is the course web site for Petascale Programming Environments and Tools (July 6-9, 2010). The course starts promptly each day at 15:00 hours UTC. In local time coordinates, the daily start time is:
  • 8:00 AM Pacific Daylight Time (Los Angeles, UTC-7)
  • 9:00 AM Mountain Daylight Time (Denver, UTC-6)
  • 10:00 AM Central Daylight Time (Chicago, UTC-5)
  • 11:00 AM Eastern Daylight Time (New York, UTC-4)
Each class day is approximately 8 hours long. See the course schedule for a detailed timeline.

The prerequisites for this course are listed on the public course page. In particular, a basic knowledge of MPI and OpenMP are required. Some of you participated in the Introduction to MPI and Introduction to OpenMP short courses that preceded this course. The short course materials continue to be available online for your convenience.

While the course is in progress, if you have a question, simply start a group discussion thread (but read this note on etiquette first). There will be TAs at the sites monitoring this group throughout the workshop.

If you registered to attend this course at one of the ten participating sites, please complete your pre-Summer School survey before the course begins. A link to the survey will be sent to your e-mail address by Sowmya Anand <sowmya@srl.uic.edu> from the Survey Research Laboratory at the University of Illinois at Chicago on July 3, 2010.

Every student is required to bring a laptop to Summer School (except those students attending at NCAR, where laptops will be provided). Please review the software requirements ahead of time. If you have problems installing the software, feel free to post questions on the discussion list.

Upon arrival at the designated site, you will be provided with a pair of login accounts on TeraGrid compute resources. To make the most of these resources, read the Getting Started on TeraGrid page for further information.

This google group provides participants with access to course content, slides, examples, exercises and other documents, and the ability to post questions.  If you have trouble accessing this site or posting questions, send e-mail to info@vscse.org.

The Summer School is supported by the Virtual School of Computational Science and Engineering with funding from the http://www.ncsa.illinois.edu/BlueWaters/ project, the National Science Foundation, and the State of Illinois.  Additional support of staff time and computing resources are provided by the TeraGrid and TeraGrid's Resource Provider sites including NCAR, NICS, Indiana University, LONI, PSC, Purdue University, and TACC.